New Mexico is a sun state.

The sun warms us in winter and bakes us in summer. On an average of 280 New Mexico days a year, the sun sits on its throne and waves its scepter over ” The Land of Enchantment. ”

Our State Flag has a Sun and the Sun’s rays extend in four directions. Dawn, Day, Dusk, and Dark are the first ray.. North, South, East, and West are the second ray. Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter are the third ray. Infancy, Youth,Adulthood and Old Age are the fourth ray.

The Zia Indians, who gave us the flag’s design and message, revere the sun as sacred. The four rays are gifts to us from the giver of all good. The rays are bound by the circle of life and love, without a beginning or end.

If flags could choose who they wanted to follow them, we would be in deep trouble.





Send this to a friend